Password Protection


The new password protection system is available when publishing to MAGIX online world and allows you to secure certain areas of your website with a password that either only you, selected users or the entire public can access. The password protection feature does not use any form of server side scripting, but rather configures the logins for your website in the .htaccess file.

Frequently asked questions

Select to publish your website and sign into your MAGIX online world account. Set the subfolder path if required and click on the Password Protect box from the resulting publish dialog box:

This will open your default browser and take you to the Magix Online FTP tool. You will automatically be logged in and directed to the screen to produce your website logins for the folder specified within the sub folder path. If no path was specified then you will be directed to the top level folder.

select to allow everyone (the general public), selected contacts or just yourself to access the pages published to the specified folder. Selecting 'Selected contacts' will allow you to create new contacts and contact groups.

Any pages published to the folder will now be adhere to the protection rules specified.

You can only password protect sub-folders, not individual pages. This means if you wanted certain “members” areas or sections of your website with a password protection, you will have to upload the pages for it to a sub-folder.

Unfortunately not, you will need to notify them yourself on their details as necessary

No, only you can change their passwords in your Magix FTP tool here:

Unfortunately, this login box are features of the browser, and cannot be controlled from the server side or website, there is no way to change what this login box looks like.

Most browsers store your password information only for the current browser session, when you close your browser it forgets your username and password. Its not possible to create a 'remember my details box' but modern browsers however will offer the option to store the password you have entered locally so it automatically fills in for next time.

This is the same username as password you use to log in and publish to MAGIX

Users basically can't; only you can through the Magix FTP tool. Although you can create a form that they could fill in and email to you, it is you who will have to create their login for your website. You can access the panel from here:

When entering a password-protected web site for the first time, you will occasionally notice that you are asked for your password twice. This may happen immediately after you entered the password the first time, or it may happen when you click on the first link after authenticating the first time.

This happens for a very simple, but nonetheless confusing, reason, again having to do with the way that the browser caches the login information.

For example, if you were to visit the URL, which required authentication, your browser would remember the supplied username and password, associated with the hostname If, by virtue of an internal redirect, or fully-qualified HTML links in pages, you are then sent to the URL, even though this is really exactly the same URL, the browser does not know this for sure, and is forced to request the authentication information again, since and are not exactly the same hostname. Your browser has no particular way to know that these are the same web site.

(25 vote(s))
Not helpful