How do I prevent old files from loading when opening the program

This article applies to

  • Xara Designer Pro 6 and later
  • Xara Photo & Graphic Designer 6 and later

In version 6 we introduced auto backups.  The option to ‘backup open documents on close and restore on program start’ is enabled by default from within the Backups tab of Page Options. This means all open documents will be saved to the backup location when closing the program and these files will be automatically loaded when opening the program.

Simply disable the checkbox from the Backups tab within Page Options to prevent this behaviour from occurring.

Advanced Users

Any alterations to your registry settings are made at your own risk.  Please do not edit any values other than those listed below.

Advanced users can enable 'backup on close' without enabling 'restore on open' if required.

To control these options, open the registry (select start then run and type regedit.)

If you are using Designer Pro: browse to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Xara\XtremePro\6.1\Options\Backups. 
If you are using Photo & Graphic Designer: browse to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Xara\Xtreme\6.1\Options\Backups. 

Set the value name RestoreOnOpen  value data to 0 to disable restore on open. 
Set the value name BackupOnClose value data to 0 to disable backup on close.

(162 vote(s))
Not helpful